The church was named after the Norwegian king Olav the Second, who was worshipped as a patron of seafarers. According to the legend the city-fathers erected such high building as a reference point for seafarers, so that merchants with goods did not sail by.
The church was many times reconstructed throughout its history, because of its high broach. Lighting often stroke into the broach and caused destructive fires. The Lutheran reform did not leave the church alone as well. Due to the outbursts of this new religious trend, mobs used barbaric methods to free themselves from any symbols of Catholicism. Although the church did not suffer in outward appearance, its gorgeous ornamentation got destroyed in 1524 as a result. The church became Lutheran and today serves a purpose of being is a regular gathering point for coreligionists.
20 last month
43 last month
Contacts:
Lai tee 50, Hageri, Kohila vald, Igaunija
+372 641 22 41
oleviste@oleviste.ee
www.oleviste.ee