Latvian Museums - extended list
The classicism-style building was built by architect S. Jensen in 1775 after the initiative of the Duke of Courland Peter Bieron for the needs of higher education school Acаdemia Petrina. Since 1952 it has been housing Gedert Elias Jelgava Museum of History and Culture.
Affiliate of Riga Motor museum with collection of old cars starting from American Oldsmobile assembled in 1928 and ending with Soviet cars - Zaporozhets, Moskvich, Chaika.
Old cars, bicycles, radio sets etc. The gem of the exhibition is self-propelled carriage Victoria (1907, Germany) owned by czar Nikolas II of Russia.
One of the biggest in Europe collections of Soviet aircraft - fighters MIG and Sukhoi, passenger airplanes Tupolev and Antonov, helicopters Mil and Kamov -- 38 airplanes and helicopters in total.
Prison history of Latvia from the Middle Ages till present days. Visits to be arranged by prior booking.
The city museum is placed in a luxurious building built in 1901 after Berlin architect Ernest von Ine’s drafts. At present time the museum’s reserves store more than one hundred thousand items.
Fishermen’s homesteads, windmills, smoking sheds, sheds for storing nets. Large collection of sea fishing boats and the biggest in the Baltics collection of anchors at the Path of Anchors.
Janis and Guntis Seryogin are the only owners of this collection. It started in 1977. Collection consists of the most technically interesting samples of bicycles found in Latvia and demonstrating history of bicycle development.
The first Munchhausen Museum is situated in Germany. The second one - in Dunte, in renovated manor house where, together with his wife Jacobine, once lived real baron Karl Friedrich Hieronymus von Munchhausen - prototype of the famous literary character.
The museum is situated on the Dole Island and placed in the manor house built in 1898. Exposition tells about history of the Daugava waterway, professions of boatmen, ferrymen, fishermen and raftsmen.
The only one wedding museum in Latvia. Here you can see various wedding accessories, beginning with song sheets and ending with wedding gowns. Visitors can contribute to the collection presenting an item of their own wedding.
Territory of the museum is spread over picturesque bank of the Abava River for over 200 hectares. Here visitors can see works of the museum’s founder Ojar Feldberg and other artists created during International artistic symposium in Pedvale.
Museum and open-air stage built specially for the show „Days of Tailors in Silmachi” (Skroderdienas Silmačos) - a play written by Latvian playwright Rudolf Blaumanis.
Collection of the museum contains a lot of items telling about resort life in Jurmala in the XIX century, the biggest collection of swimsuits in Latvia, old postcards with views of Jurmala, works of famous artists and underwater archaeology exposition. There are also souvenir shop and cafe in the museum.